Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Meara Platt’

Meara Platt Interview - author photo

I’m delighted to welcome USA Today Bestselling, Award Winning and Amazon UK Allstar author MEARA PLATT to Rakes and Rascals today for an exclusive interview.

Carol, it is such a pleasure! I’m a great fan of Rakes and Rascals and love the fabulous authors you feature. I am jumping for joy and so honoured to be with you today.

~~~~~~~


R&R:
Could you tell us where you were born and what it was like growing up there?

Meara:
My early years were most unusual and I can happily say that my life for the past decades has been happy and quite normal. I was born in Cairo, Egypt, an incredibly beautiful country – our sandbox was the desert and we played in the shadow of the Great Pyramid at Giza. But it was also a country with deep problems. So, I actually spent my childhood as a refugee and my family had to move from country to country until we were resettled in Australia. Reaching Australia was like stepping into heaven for us. We lived in a small apartment near Bondi Beach and there were beautiful flowers, passion fruit and strawberries growing in our garden – the impact of that beauty was huge for me, so it is no surprise that my Farthingale Series features sisters each with the name of a flower and my paranormal series is called Dark Gardens! We spent a summer outside of Canberra where kookaburra birds nestled in eucalyptus trees, and kangaroos hopped into the meadow promptly at tea time every day to take the bread we offered. We eventually made it to the United States because most of our family had settled here and have been here ever since, very much enjoying the opportunities offered to all.

Meara Platt Interview - in grade school in Australia
In grade school in Australia

Meara Platt Interview - in high school
In high School

Meara Platt Interview - in college
In college


R&R
:
How would you describe yourself – temperamental or easy-going?

Meara:
I am one of the most easy-going people you’ll ever meet and it certainly has everything to do with the turmoil of my childhood. This will sound completely corny, but I wake up every day thankful for the beautiful life I’ve been given and the wonderful friends and family with whom I share it. So, when I’m standing on a freezing train platform in the early, early morning, I don’t mind. And when I’m stuck in traffic or the bills seem to come in fast and furious, I don’t mind. The one thing I do go out of my way to do is make an outsider or new person I’ve met feel welcome, because through all the travails of our early years, the things I remember most are the kindness and incredible generosity of those who reached out a helping hand. Even a smile or a pat on the hand can make a difference.

 

R&R:
When it comes to food do you like sweet or savoury or both?

Meara:
I’m very even-handed, I’ll overindulge on both! Chocolate and warm, crusty bread are my downfall. I love food with lots of flavour, especially all the great Middle Eastern foods, but my stomach rebels at too much spice. So, no hot sauces or hot peppers for me!



R&R:

What is your most treasured possession?

Meara:
I have two favourite possessions: a book that has travelled the world with me containing two stories – Robin Hood and the Tales of King Arthur’s Court – and so I learned to love romance stories and knights in shining armour at a very early age. The second possession was a gift of two toy koala bears given by one of the dear friends we’d made in Australia as we boarded our ship to head to the USA. Her father ran a toymaking factory and so my sister and I each got a father koala and baby koala as a farewell gift. To this day, those koala bears have NEVER left our side!

 

R&R:
If you were able to afford a second home anywhere in the world where would you choose and why?

Meara:
Easy question! England – Cotswolds or Lake District, or really anywhere in England! There is no more romantic, charming place on earth. The beautiful old structures, historic castles, Tudor homes, charming countryside, high tea, English accents, Regency fashions, gorgeous gardens, Shakespeare, double-decker buses! What’s not to love?

 

R&R:
Finally, what has been your most embarrassing moment?

Meara:
A childhood memory: We boarded our ship to sail from Australia to the USA and my twin sister and I were inspecting the deck chairs one sunny day, trying to determine if our heads would fit through the slats on the back of the chairs. My twin, being ten minutes older and far wiser, suggested I try it and find out. Jump ahead thirty minutes when, to my mom’s great relief, the capable ship steward managed to squeeze my firmly-wedged head out from those slats to the cheers of the HUGE crowd that had now gathered around me. No doubt they were all giving thanks that their children were not THAT stupid!

 

~~~~~~~

 

Thank you for taking time out to be here today and sharing these interesting facts about yourself, Meara.

Thank you, thank you so much! It has been a treat and a huge delight to be with you! Sending love to you and all the kindred spirits who love historical romance!

 

 

If you would like to find out more about Meara and her books, here are the links:

Website
Goodreads
Facebook
Twitter

Read Full Post »

Having very much enjoyed Manda Collins’s Ugly Ducklings and Wicked Widows series, I looked forward to reading her latest Lords of Anarchy series. Although I was sadly disappointed with the first book, “A Good Rake is Hard to Find”, I did like secondary characters Lord Mainwaring and Lady Hermione Upperton and wanted to read their story. So I was delighted to be offered an ARC to review.

Source: Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review

(Lords of Anarchy, #2)

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Cover Blurb:

TEMPTING FATE

Marriage? To a gambler? You must be joking! Yet Lady Hermione Upperton has never backed down from a challenge. When her spendthrift father offers her at the gaming tables, she is given a difficult choice—wed the Earl of Mainwaring, an infamous gamester with no respect for her skills with the reins, or face charges for the murder of a member of the infamous Lords of Anarchy. Either way she’ll have to clear her name. Can she count on her husband’s help the way she has begun to count on his kisses?

RISKING ROMANCE

All Jasper Fawley, the Earl of Mainwaring, wanted was a night of cards. But by the end of the evening he’s walked away with a fortune—and a bride who’s suspected of murder. Jasper knows Hermione is passionate about her unorthodox membership in the Lords of Anarchy, but he’s certain she would never kill to keep it. Can he protect his headstrong wife from prosecution and a ruthless killer without endangering both their hearts in the process?

♥♥♥♥♥♥

This is Grace Burrowes…need I to say more?

Source: Purchased from Amazon Kindle

(Captive Hearts, #1)

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Cover Blurb:

He’ll never be free…

Captured and tortured by the French, Christian Severn, Duke of Mercia, survives by vowing to take revenge on his tormentors. Before the duke can pursue his version of justice, Gillian, Countess of Greendale, reminds him that his small daughter has suffered much in his absence, and needs her papa desperately.

Until he surrenders his heart…

Gilly endured her difficult marriage by avoiding confrontation and keeping peace at any cost. Christian’s devotion to his daughter and his kindness toward Gilly give her hope that she could enjoy a future with him, for surely he of all men shares her loathing for violence in any form. Little does Gilly know, the battle for Christian’s heart is only beginning.

♥♥♥♥♥♥

Lucinda Brant’s books have been highly recommended to me

Source: Free from Amazon Kindle

(Roxton Family Saga, #1)

Genre: Historical Romance (Georgian)

Cover Blurb:

NEW 2014 EDITION (revised, re-edited, re-covered)

France and England in the age of hedonism and enlightenment
A green-eyed beauty is abandoned at the court of Versailles
The predatory Comte de Salvan plots her seduction
An all-powerful adversary snatches her to safety
But is he noble savior or a satyr most despicable?

Antonia is pursued by the lascivious Comte de Salvan who wants her as a mistress. When the libertine Duke of Roxton snatches her from Salvan’s clutches, she believes herself rescued. Has she merely swapped one seducer for another? Will Roxton save Antonia from the Comte? Can Antonia save the Duke from himself?

A classic romance in the tradition of Georgette Heyer, Noble Satyr pays homage to Heyer’s These Old Shades.

♥♥♥♥♥♥

Source: Novella given as a gift only to author’s newsletter subscribers.

(A Farthingale Novella)

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Cover Blurb:

Lady Evangeline Cameron, granddaughter of the powerful Duke of Lotheil, is holding out for one man’s love, but the only thing George Farthingale knows when it comes to Evie is that he must not kiss her. No matter how much he wants to. Find out if Evie and George find love in If You Kissed Me.

♥♥♥♥♥♥

Source: Free from Amazon Kindle

(The Rogues of Ravensmuir, 1)

Genre: Historical Romance (14th Century)

Cover Blurb:

Dear Reader:

Seductive and mysterious, Merlyn was the laird of Ravensmuir — never had a man so stirred my body and soul. I gave myself to him — willingly, trustingly, passionately — and we soon wed. Then a horrible revelation emerged, shattering my innocence and my marriage…

Five years later, Merlyn returned to my doorstep, desperate for my help. The scoundrel swore he was haunted by memories of me, that a treasure locked in Ravensmuir could clear his name. Yet I could not surrender to his will again. Now he is said to be murdered and Ravensmuir has fallen into my hands.

But even as I cross the threshold of this cursed keep, I hear his whisper in the darkness, feel his caress in the night, and I know that Merlyn has told me but part of his tale. Should I do as is right and expose his lair? Or dare I trust my alluring but deceptive spouse – the rogue who destroyed my heart?

— Ysabella

♥♥♥♥♥♥

Read Full Post »

The Review Sisters

Five Women Who Share A Love Of Reading

Boonies123

Historical Romance Reviews

Delilah Marvelle Loves Her Readers

Sign up for the New Release Alert

Caz's Reading Room

Fiction of a historical nature and anything else that takes my fancy

The Reading Wench

Historical Romance Reviews

Sonya's Stuff

Mostly Books

Chicks,Rogues and Scandals

We Love, We Live and We Read. . . .

The Mighty Quill

Historical Romance Reviews

doingsomereading

Now, what to read next...???

La Deetda Reads

Book Reviews, Thoughts and Recipes

And Then She Kissed Him

Regency romance redrawn with Author Cora Lee

Romantic Historical Reviews

Where History Meets Passion

The Write Thought

Historical Romance Reviews

LovesHistorical Book Reviews

Mother. Blogger. Southern Belle. Makeup geek. Avid reader. Books are my addiction. Highlanders are my passion.

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

ReginaJeffers's Blog

Every Woman Dreams...

%d bloggers like this: